F*ck Happiness by Ariel Gore: stock image of front cover.
F*ck Happiness by Ariel Gore: photo of the front cover which shows very minor scuff marks along the edges.
F*ck Happiness by Ariel Gore: photo of the back cover which shows very minor scuff marks along the edges, and minor scratching.
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, F*ck Happiness by Ariel Gore: stock image of front cover.
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, F*ck Happiness by Ariel Gore: photo of the front cover which shows very minor scuff marks along the edges.
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, F*ck Happiness by Ariel Gore: photo of the back cover which shows very minor scuff marks along the edges, and minor scratching.

F*ck Happiness by Ariel Gore (Uncorrected Proof Copy) (Paperback, 2020)

Regular price
$15.00
Sale price
$15.00
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

F*ck Happiness by Ariel Gore (Uncorrected Proof Copy)

Why do men have a monopoly on happiness?

Happiness has become big business. Books, psychologists, consultants, and even governments promote scientific findings into it. The problem is that almost all of this science is performed by and for straight white men. And some of the most vocal of these experts suggest that women can become happier by adopting traditional gender values and eschewing feminism.

Sceptical of this hypothesis, Ariel Gore immersed herself in the optimism industrial complex, combing the research, reading the history, interviewing the thinkers, and exploring her own and her friends' personal experiences and desires. The result is a nuanced, thoughtful, and inspiring account of what happiness means to women.

For readers of Rebecca Solnit's Men Explain Things to Me and Barbara Ehrenreich's Bright Side, this is a provocative, persuasive look at how and why women's desires are more complex than we are led to believe.

About the Author

Ariel Gore is a feminist, journalist, writer and teacher. The author of several books on parenting, feminism and queer culture, she is also the publisher of Hip Mama, an award-winning magazine covering the culture and politics of motherhood. Her writing has been described as 'eloquent, sensitive, and revolutionary' and novelist Marc Acito dubs her 'an adventurer, the Indiana Jones of literature'.

 

 Paperback | 192 pages

 136 x 208 x 16mm | 234g

 

 Black Inc.

 Nero

 Melbourne, VIC, Australia

 English

 1760641995

 9781760641993

 

Condition: Good

A book that has been read but is in good condition. Very minimal damage to the cover, including very minimal scuff marks along the edges, and minimal scratching on the back cover, but no holes or tears. All pages are undamaged, with no creasing or tearing, no pencil underlining of text, no highlighting of text, no writing in margins. No missing pages.